Comfort for the Sick

8 Feb

On Monday I started to feel under the weather – nose runny, throat starting to hurt. It seemed like a standard cold, and I didn’t pay much attention. But the next day when I woke up, my normal voice had gone AWOL. I could only hiss and growl like a demented blues singer, and each time I swallowed it felt like I’d drunk acid. I just wanted to stay curled up under my duvet, but eventually hunger got the better of me.

When I’m sick I tend to go for dishes which combine three qualities: salty, loaded with protein, and soothing. Chicken noodle soup is an old-school staple, as is chicken or beef Top Ramen with an egg scrambled into it. But this time I wanted something more solid. I opened my fridge and discovered a lonesome spring onion that was beginning to droop. Fried rice popped into my head. Protein from eggs and salt from soy sauce, combined with my favourite white rice, chopped spring onion sprinkled over everything.

And lo, 20 minutes later, I had a steaming bowl of comfort. I concede that it’s not the healthiest solution to a cold, compared to a fruity smoothie or some stir-fried vegetables. But it’s certainly one of the more delicious cures I’ve ever had.

Note: In an ideal world, the cook would have leftover steamed rice in the fridge. But I didn’t let that stop me, and it still turned out pretty tasty.

Fried Rice (adapted from Felicity Cloake’s recipe for perfect egg-fried rice)

Makes 1 big bowlful

100g/3.5 oz white rice, cooked (or one you-sized portion leftover white rice)
2 tablespoons neutral oil
2 eggs
½ teaspoon sesame oil
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1-2 spring onions, thinly sliced crosswise

Beat the two eggs together with the sesame oil and the soy sauce.

Heat the oil over a high flame in a wok or skillet until it’s smoking hot. Add the rice to the pan, and spread it over the bottom with a spatula. Leave for a minute or two, then give the rice a quick stir.

Add the egg mixture and stir briskly and vigorously until all the egg is cooked. Stir-fry for another minute so there’s no liquid left and things are getting a little crispy.

Serve up garnished with spring onions.

One Response to “Comfort for the Sick”

  1. Erin February 8, 2012 at 11:26 PM #

    Sounds yummy! Get well soon!

Leave a Reply

